h1

Rock ‘n Roll USA Half Marathon…Part I!

March 18, 2012

Going to commit a big blogger sin here and write only half a post of thoughts on my first half marathon (Get it? Half a marathon, half of my thoughts? Yeah, that’s pretty bad…). After the race yesterday and for almost all of today, I’ve been going non-stop and haven’t sat down to put good words to my thoughts. So…here’s Part I! Forgive the incomplete post.

Yesterday was the Rock n’ Roll USA Half Marathon and, considering how my hip/pelvis was feeling earlier in the week, I rocked it! It wasn’t the race I thought it would be when I registered in November, but it was SO much better than the race I thought it would be on Friday.

All smiles at seeing some friends just after Mile 11.

More updates to come, but overall: great experience. Good weather, albeit a little hot. No crazy course mix-ups, straight-forward gear check, plenty of food and drink available at the finish. And, key for me: no hip or pelvis pain during the run. At. all. Any aches and pains seemed pretty standard; my feet were a little sore by Mile 11.

And I was only punched in the face once.

True story.

At about mile 12.5 or so, a very uncoordinated girl who was raised by wolves was probably not used to crowded courses stretched her hands out very quickly at 90 degree angles, sending her closed fist straight into my nose as I was passing her. She felt bad, but wanted to chat about it. No way, lady! I assured her it was fine, but sped up a little, checking for blood. No blood, no foul.

The best part of the run? (Outside of finishing it, of course!) I have amazing friends and family who support me. I had such a fun weekend with these tremendous folks.

They also make ridiculously awesome signs.

Esuper Esexy ESWEATY Estacie! It was hot out there!

7 comments

  1. Congratulations on finishing your first half! Mine is coming up in a little over a month. I hope I don’t get punched in the face.


    • Thank you! Good luck in your training in this last month! And now you know to expect that you MIGHT get punched in the face, so, you know, you’ll be aware. 😉 I hope that doesn’t happen to you either!


  2. Gongrats on your first half! I’ll be doing the Philly Rock & Roll Half for the second time in September.


    • Thank you! Enjoy Philly!


  3. Congratulations! Sounds like you still had a great first race as well! And that’s huge that you were able to overcome the minor injuries. Way to Rock!


  4. Congrats! I was out there on the course too (at mile 11!) and it sure was a warm day!


  5. Girl, you were amazing!!!



Leave a Reply

