h1

Three Things Thursday: Turn, Turn, Turn Double Edition

March 8, 2012

On my awesome afternoon run (low 70s, sunshine, not in the office…), I thought about how, even though DC had a ridiculously mild winter, the seasons are changing. Here’s my double Three Things edition: three things I’ll miss about winter running and three things I won’t…

The Glories of Winter Running (or…what I’ll miss!)

1. Not overheating. No matter what time of day I go out (oh, hey, 2pm Saturday runs…), I can usually stay pretty cool during winter. I love it. I tend to get hot pretty easily (or all the time), so the natural A/C will be missed.

2. I’ve never swallowed a fly while running during the winter. True story. But on today’s very spring-like run? Mmm…extra protein. The bugs are back out!

3. Wide open spaces. Cold outside? Fewer folks on the trail. I’m not a misanthrope, but when you live in an urban area, it’s kind of nice to get out there without bumping elbows with a million people. [The flip side of loads of people: there’s constant motivation to get out there. Sometimes it’s just the boost I need on a day when motivation is a little low.]

Be Gone, Low Temps (or…what I won’t miss!)

1. Dark mornings and dark evenings. I have a really hard time getting out of bed and getting out of the door when it’s dark. And when I leave work and it’s dark…also not especially motivated to get outside.

2. That age old question: What the hell should I wear?? When it’s warm, it’s pretty easy: lightest layer possible. But when it’s cold, I second guess myself…is this going to be warm enough? Too warm? Is it windy? Bring on the simplicity.

3. These guys. My saggy baggy running tights. Don’t get me wrong: I’m really happy that they are saggy baggy. I wear them as a badge of weight loss honor, but they’ve gotten ill-fittingly uncomfortable. In March, though, I’m not willing to invest in a new pair. So, I’m happy to welcome the warm temps and leave behind ye olde running tights.

Peace out, sag ass!

2 comments

  1. although i’m not a fan of summer running temps, i am excited to bring back the shorts and singlets. 🙂


    • Yep – ready for a wardrobe change! I’ll even settle for the Body Glide that has to accompany it. 🙂



Leave a Reply

