h1

List-O-Mania

February 19, 2012

Yesterday I went for my long run (7 miles – I’m back in the game!) and since I don’t run with headphones when I’m running outside, that was a nice long time to be alone in my head. So I started sorting ideas and making lists. I’ll use this List-O-Mania to keep tabs on progress, goals, and “perks.”

To Try:

  • Attend Body Pump once a week for four more weeks
  • Attend Body Pump twice a week for four weeks
  • Fartleks
  • A new running shoe fitting

To Achieve:

  • Run a 5K (official or unofficial) in 32 minutes or less
  • Run a 5K (official or unofficial) in 30 minutes or less
  • Maintain or beat my December Hot Chocolate 15K pace in my upcoming 10-miler (11:02/mile) (more about the 10-miler below)

To Buy:

  • A fuel belt (because, yes, holding a sloshing water bottle in my hand for 7 miles WAS annoying…and inspired feelings of needing to, you know, use the facilities…)
  • 2-3 short-sleeve tops for running/other activities (the ones I have are mostly old, raggedy, have a slight perma-stench, and…too big!)
  • A new sports bra (Let’s just say that I was…blessed…(?)…in this department, and buying new sports bras is neither enjoyable nor always easy.)

To Think About Buying:

  • A Garmin

As with just about any physical activity, the range of capital outlay for running is broad. You can spend $12.99 at Target on a poly/spandex T-shirt, and you can spend $58.00 for a technical tee from lululemon. Any number of blogs out there will probably tell you which one is better, and I don’t mean to provide those two options as a quality comparison. It’s just to say: wow! There’s some serious variation, and your mileage may vary from any of those options. For example, I choose to spend more on sports bras, but go pretty cheap on running capris.

For more on what you need to run, I really like this summary. And I love this review of just how much bang you can get for your buck from big-box stores.

With the spring and summer just around the corner, folks have started mentioning upcoming races to me. To add to the growing list of running expenses: race registrations. Obviously, you don’t need to enter races to have a fulfilling running life, but I enjoy them. And, well, these days, I’m feeling racy…

So I decided to add a new line item to my budget: The Fund to Keep Racy Stacie Racing. I’m still working out the details, but I started my virtual racing earmark by adding up the number of pounds I’d lost since starting WW and the number of workouts I’ve logged since my last race. [This is virtual because, while I love this idea for rewarding yourself for weight loss or other achievements, putting dollar bills in a jar is harder to translate into an online race registration purchase.] I’ll have to add in some other reasons to add to the kitty to keep up with my goals, but I thought this was a good start. Also, not helpful now because my birthday is in December, but for my last birthday, my parents bought me my registration to the half marathon…that’s now in less than 4 weeks!

So, here’s the first application of The Fund to Keep Racy Stacie Racing:

How perfect is THAT?! Looking forward to my next 10-miler!

How do you budget for your athletic hobbies? Is it a conscious decision for you to budget for races or gear? What other ideas do you have for ways I can add to my Fund?

2 comments

  1. I think I’m going to do this race too! I did it last year and absolutely LOVED it! So scenic!


    • I’m really looking forward to it – I’ve heard it’s a pretty fast course. Was that your experience?



Leave a Reply

