h1

Weekend Update: Running Around the Office is Different Than Running a Race Edition

February 14, 2012

Here’s my weekly wrap-up for February 6-12. Eeek – another day-late, dollar-short post! So much for a weekend update…anyway.

Things have been pretty crazy at work; new hours, new responsibilities, a ton of running around at the last minute with a figurative fire under my ass. Happy it’s not a literal one, and, frankly, the excitement is…pretty exciting. But it’s made it hard to stick to a schedule and keep on top of my life. I’m proud to report that Operation: Rein It In was successful. Wish I’d cooked a little more, but, considering that I went in to work on Sunday, too, very productive process of regaining control.

Training Mode: Meh. This should have concluded Week 7 of half marathon training.

Days until the race: 32

You can run and tell that: 3.25 miles! Which is…not enough! But it’s better than it has been!

Busted more moves: One yoga class, one Body Pump class. And…running around my office?

Busted body: …..  (Nothing to report – yay!)

Ear candy o’ the week: I’d forgotten how much awesome music is in my library, what with adding new things to my workout mixes. In rediscovering my more rootsy, folky selections, I remembered that membership at the top of the pop charts isn’t the only thing that makes a great running song. I happily ran to Neko Case’s version of “Soulful Shade of Blue” yesterday; a driving beat, great lyrics, and knowledge that there’s much more to life than Britney Spears will keep you going.

The takeaway: I can’t let changes at work or in life change my habits and affect attainment of goals as much as they did last week. The eating habits were healthy last week, but the fitness habits suffered. I really enjoyed Theodora’s post on staying healthy when busy.

Things to work on: getting back into my running plan (2nd attempt).

One comment

  1. It’s hard adjusting to a new job and finding the time to fit in workouts! I’m going to through the same thing!



Leave a Reply

