h1

Weekend Update: Bringing Sexy Back Edition

February 7, 2012

Here’s my weekly wrap-up for January 30 – February 5. (Are there countries in the world where Monday is a weekend? My apologies for a belated post.) I got to bring running back this week, which is damned near as exciting as bringing sexy back.

Training Mode: Hiatus…ish. This should have concluded Week 6 of half marathon training.

Days until the race: 39

You can run and tell that: 2 miles! TWO MILES! I went out for a run after a few days of no pain at all when walking up and down stairs. It felt great.

Busted more moves: One yoga class, one Body Pump class. [And I could bore you with excuses about why that’s such a short list, but I won’t…duly noted that I need to bust more moves if I want to bring sexy back. And I do. I just caught a glimpse at some potential bridesmaid dresses, one of which I’ll be donning in July. I need to bring sexy back. Real bad.]

Busted body: A tight left calf…can’t seem to stretch it out very well.

Ear candy o’ the week: May you someday be as blessed as I was to have a sweaty, slightly scary gay man yelling at me that he was going to take us all to “The Edge of Glory” when we went to, THAT’S RIGHT, LADIES….SINGLES!!!! I really like Body Pump and my super enthusiastic instructor.

The takeaway: It felt great to run again, but some lingering tightness in my left calf is a reminder that I can’t expect to just hop back into my training plan as if nothing was wrong with my leg.

Things to work on: getting back into my running plan, better healthy meal preparation. Every meal can’t devolve into scrambled eggs or Greek yogurt or hummus.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Monday night update: I left my regular Monday night yoga class tonight feeling…blah. Similar moves as always, but my legs just felt…heavy. And all of my muscles felt sore. Hangover from the weekend? Not sure, but it’s frustrating. I typically look forward to this class as an opportunity to feel strong, but I just felt weak. Proud of myself for not giving up, but a reminder that not every day will be your best day.

Ever have those days when there doesn’t seem to be a clear reason why you’re not feeling your best?


4 comments

  1. Bringing Stacie Back! I love it! Sometime my body feels all heavy for no reason either, and then other days I feel amazing even when I shouldn’t (lack of sleep, food, water, etc.). Every “bad” day makes me appreciate the good, strong days even more. I am proud of you for not giving up, you still did more than you would have had you not gone to class.


  2. I’ve heard great things about Body Pump classes! I’ll have to try one out someday soon! And it’s great that you can run without pain. I know its frustrating to be getting back into it, and not be able to do as much as you want to, but it just makes you appreciate all the pain-free/healthy runs that you have! Congrats!


    • Body Pump is awesome! You should definitely try it. I feel like I get an exponentially better strength training experience in that class than I would if I were just lifting on my own. And the music is always good. 🙂


  3. […] Nelly. Time to rein it in. I went from having a pretty great, focused week to a week of being just OK about fitness and nutrition (you can’t tell about the nutrition part from my post, but I remember being just OK about […]



Leave a Reply

