h1

Peanut, Peanut Butter…Jelly

January 28, 2012

Anyone else remember that song? No? Now you do!

I love peanut butter. Outside of people with nut allergies, are there folks who don’t like peanut butter? If so, I’m pretty sure I don’t know those folks. The thing I don’t like about peanut butter is that 1 Tbsp. of the good stuff is 3 WW points (80-100 calories, and averaging about 8 grams of fat), and I don’t remember the last time I easily limited myself to 1 Tbsp. If I do, it’s usually under great duress.

Shopping with my mom, we came across powdered peanut butter (it was on a military base…I haven’t seen it sold anywhere else except the Interwebs). The jar boasts that a serving has 85% fewer calories than traditional peanut butter. Appealing, no? So I decided to experiment, figuring that if I didn’t like the taste for everyday noshing, I could at least take it backpacking, where I care about weight and not as much about taste.

 

Overall, not too bad! It’s not the same as Jif, Peter Pan, or even organic or all-natural peanut butters, so if you’re expecting the same consistency or taste, you may be a  little disappointed. But it’s doesn’t taste bad, and I can see enjoying it in recipes, spread on baked goods, or mixed into oatmeal. Emily at the Daily Garnish explains the process used to make powdered peanut butter (oil is squeezed out of roasted peanuts) and provides a review of PB2 and two other options; I was sad to read in a later post on her site that the Trader Joe’s Peanut Flour was discontinued.

So much “diet” food seems to be chock full of strange chemicals or less-than-optimal substitutions (ahem, I’m looking at you, lower-fat but higher-sugar foods!). It’s nice to see an alternative like PB2.

What swaps have you made in trying to eat fewer calories or have a healthier diet?

One comment

  1. Oh wow! I had no idea that even existed!



Leave a Reply

