h1

Keep On Growin’

January 6, 2012

If I were on a reality TV show, this would be the time when I head to the confessional closet and say something either really snarky or really profound, depending on the show. This doesn’t really fit into either category, but would make for a nice confessional: sometimes I get really angry with myself. And I’m sure I’m not alone.

Earlier today I was lamenting the double-whammy combo of post-holiday-non-motivation (if you spent November/December eating and lounging, I get the New Year’s resolve; I didn’t though, and now I’m kind of tired!) and sore body. [Clearly very quickly forgetting yesterday’s post!] This kind of lamentation usually ends up leading to a very tender subject: why I waited until I was 29 to care about my health.

I don’t have an answer. But I did wait and not really mindfully tackle the problem until then. I tended to eat healthful foods, but too much food, generally, and not always the right proportions of what I needed. And I liked to hike, but I didn’t get out there enough.

I have to move beyond those thoughts, though, because I can hate myself for what I did or didn’t do, but that doesn’t really inspire.

So I went to a yoga class – and avoided things that can wreck your body. And ate a grapefruit – which supposedly has weight loss and other benefits, but I just think they are delicious. And I read this article about conquering the gym – laughing well and taking the last item to heart. And I checked out this piece about stupid things you shouldn’t do – including “should”-ing yourself.

And then I listened to Derek and the Dominos. Because Clapton rocks it and we all just…keep on growing.

2 comments

  1. I like to think that one can be both snarky and profound! As my friend Michal says “mean and funny is still funny”.

    As you know, i am so proud, motivated and inspired by your journey into the land of health and well-being! We can’t change the past, but we can make things better for the future–which you are and have been doing for over two years now. That ain’t easy, so be sure to always give yourself credit for that. Better to have started at 29 years young than 39 years, or 49, years. Go Stacie go!! Namaste!


  2. Thanks, Coach! You are absolutely correct – better now than later or never.



Leave a Reply

