h1

Weekend Update: Auld Lang Syne Edition

January 2, 2012

Here’s my weekly wrap-up for December 26-January 1.

Training Mode: In it to win it! (And by win I mean finish!) Week 1 down.

Days until the race: 73

You can run and tell that: 6 miles

Busted more moves: an hour of kayaking/swimming off the beach in Abu Dhabi. And, does walking endlessly around Heathrow on a long layover count as exercise?

Busted body: left knee pain, right hip pain.

Ear candy o’ the week: Pitbull – “Give Me Everything.” Possibly overplayed these days, but I still like working out to this song and it was a big hit on the dance floor at the NYE wedding I attended.

The takeaway: I “rested” from running by moving my long run for December31/January 1 to January 2. That’s all well and good, except that I can’t keep myself from the dance floor at weddings (fine fine…or anywhere), and in heels, I decided it would be amazeballs to be the BEST. DANCER. EVER. to the Twist. Ouch. Totally aggravated my left knee and right hip. And I stayed out dancing for another FOUR hours (fortunately switched to flip flops). Lesson: if you’re going to rest, actually rest…

Things to work on: daily stretching, strength training (specifically: my hip flexors could use some help).

Happy New Year! May yours be healthy, wealthy, and wise, in whatever manner you need those attributes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

