h1

Weekend Update: Belated International Edition

December 26, 2011

Yikes! A day late on my weekend update, but I hope my international travels can serve as an acceptable excuse.

So, I’m writing from my parents’ house in Abu Dhabi. It’s…interesting! I’m having a great trip, but my mind has been blown several times. There is resounding cognitive dissonance in seeing massive Tim Hortons billboards on the drive into Dubai, a TGI Friday’s in Al Ain, and Honey Crisp apples from the U.S. in grocery stores all over Abu Dhabi. If you didn’t believe in globalization before, believe friends, believe. There’s so much I could write about, but there’s family time to be had, so just a quick update!

Weekly wrap-up for December 19-25:

Training Mode: Maintenance

You can run and tell that (code for: how many miles I logged): 10.2 miles (including 6.2 with my dad on the Home for the Holidays Virtual 10K…yep, from the UAE!)

UAE 10K

It's not a proper "virtual 10K" without a bib!

Busted more moves: Do walking laps around Heathrow on a long layover count as…anything?

Busted body: A little pain in my right hip post-run. Really digging Figure 4s for this.

Ear candy o’ the week: We did a little hiking and hanging out on Jebel Hafeet, a mountain outside of Al Ain, and the whole time I had “New Speedway Boogie” from the Dead stuck in my head. Pretty sure that’s not going to make you want to run, but you might want some nachos and a couch to chill on…?

The takeaway: I am incredibly grateful to live in a country where it’s not strange for women to run. The UAE is incredibly progressive and it wasn’t a big deal for me to go running, but I still felt like I got a few strange looks while out running (which, really, I’d stare at a big redhead barreling down the sidewalk too, no matter the country). And I imagine that it would be even more difficult to run freely in the other countries of this region.

Leave a Reply

